Area of Coverage

The Buffalo Creek Watershed District (BCWD) is located in south-central Minnesota, approximately 30 miles west of the Minneapolis-St. Paul Metropolitan Area.  The Buffalo Creek watershed is the southern most subwatershed of the larger South Fork of the Crow River Watershed, which eventually outlets to the Mississippi River near Dayton, Minnesota.  There are 5 counties, 6 cities and 28 townships that are wholly or partially encompassed within the District.  The overwhelming majority of the District’s land is located within McLeod and Renville Counties (93%).